top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristine A. Bautista

6. Summary and Suggestions

1.1 Purposes of practicum (meets or not meets your need)

Objectives of the Project

· To enable pre-service student teachers to develop their teaching skills and pedagogy

· To encourage the pre-service student teachers to practice their English skills

· To allow the pre-service student teachers to gain a broader regional and world view

· To expose future teachers to diverse teaching and learning situations and opportunities, and the value of flexibility.


1.2 Procedures of Practicum

1st Week: Orientation

2nd Week: Teaching Assistant and Lesson Plan Consolidation

3rd Week: Teaching Practice

4th Week: Reflect and Evaluation


1.3 Outcomes of Practicum

This practicum experience enables me to become a globally competitive educator in the near future. I was able to realize the the value of flexibility as an educator and also a great avenue for me to develop my communication skills. I learned how to become resourceful and creative in various ways. I was exposed to diverse culture and learners. I was able to learn new pedagogues and teaching strategies which I can be used in my chosen field of specialization. I had the chance to see the broader sense of the world of teaching which enables me to widen my teaching perspective. However, I did not just learned about pedagogues but as well as cultural diversity. I was able to experience a different culture from ours in Philippines. I also developed my socialization skills through interacting with people whose have different perspective.


1.4 The challenges of Practicum

During my practicum period, I faced many challenges in which enable me to test my skills and abilities as an educator. I interacted with people whom I do not have the same nationality, culture and language. We are not able to communicate well because of the language barrier but through the usage of gestures, facial expressions, movements and sign languages we were able to talk to each other. And also, Indonesia is a Muslim country. There are a lot of culture in which I should be aware, accept and respect of. These challenges enables me to ignite the fire of my desire to acquire new teaching pedagogues which will help me to become a globally competitive teacher of the 21st century education.


1.5 Overall Impression

The SEA Teacher Project or the Pre-Service Student Teacher Exchange in Southeast Asia is a great Avenue for me to improve my teaching pedagogy as well as my communication and socialization skills. I was exposed on different learning situations that strengthened my teaching ability. It allows me to widen my teaching perspective in which I acquired new ideas and innovations which I can use in my teaching career.


This practicum experience abroad not just developed my teaching skills but as well as help me to improve as a person. I learned how to interact with other people whom I do not have the same belief, language and culture. I was able to learn man things in the life that I’ve experienced during my practicum in other country.


1.6 Suggestions for Future Improvements

The SEAMEO must continue to inspire future teachers to become globally competitive educators of the 21st Century through this SEA Teacher Project. The practicum period should be longer than one month. I prefer 2-3 months is better to fully develop and assess the skills and abilities of the pre-service teachers. However, for the receiving school, they should provide avenue for students to improve their English skills so that they will be able write, read and speak in English language.

Recent Posts

See All

3. Teaching Plan

1.1 Curriculum The curriculum is an instructional design which guides the teachers and learners in order to attain the success of the teaching and learning process. The curriculum used in teaching Phy

4. Teaching Practice

1.1 Procedures of Teaching There are alot of things that a teacher should prepare in order to attain the aims of the teaching and learning process such as the lesson plan, teaching materials, activiti

bottom of page