top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristine A. Bautista

DAY 2 | First Tour in Universitas Negeri Padang

It was our first time to roam around our receiving university, Universitas Negeri Padang. It was also our first time to go in UNP with all by ourselves.


Our Indonesian buddies just waited us inside the university.


We’ve hang around with Elsha and Mita, Indonesian buddies inside the University. In there, I saw a large tracking field where in they play football. I saw students playing football. I also saw the University’s basketball court. According to our Indonesian Buddies, that is where I will be going to teach. My heart started pounding fast because I already the students which I will be going to teach. But I know I can do it!


We went to International Office wherein the office of Mr. Nanda, the head of the office and Miss Sutria, assistant of the IO are located.


And also, we’ve met the other Filipino SEA-Teachers and other Indonesian buddies. They are all really fun to be with. I really enjoyed talking with them although we all have different culture and language. We also met Mr. Ananda Putra, Ph.D, the head of International Affairs Lecturer and Researcher. Mr. Ananda had short orientation with us. He discussed about the number of SEA Teachers that will be assigned in the UNP. He said there are 17 in total and all from Philippines. He said that I will be assigned in SMP Pemangunan. I will be going to teach Junior High School Students. In Indonesia, SMP means Sekolah Menengeh Pertama and it refers to junior high school while SMA means Sekolah Menengah Atas and it refers to Senior High School. However Ryza, my fellow Filipino SEA Teacher in CNSC will going to teach in SMA 10. She’s very lucky because according to our Indonesian buddies, students in senior high school are good in speaking and understanding the english language but the SMA 10 is quite far from the UNP. The SMP Pembangunan which I will going to teach is just inside the campus of the university.


We took a picture before leaving the office together with Mr. Ananda, Miss Ari and our Indonesian Buddies.


(picture of Indonesian buddies)



New words that I have learned...

â–ªaji bu- bahay kubo

â–ªBagonjong- house

â–ªChantik- beautiful

â–ªNam- sister

â–ªIbu- mother

â–ªkadang kadang- eat

â–ªkuropok- kropek

â–ªduku- lansones

Recent Posts

See All

3. Teaching Plan

1.1 Curriculum The curriculum is an instructional design which guides the teachers and learners in order to attain the success of the teaching and learning process. The curriculum used in teaching Phy

6. Summary and Suggestions

1.1 Purposes of practicum (meets or not meets your need) Objectives of the Project · To enable pre-service student teachers to develop their teaching skills and pedagogy · To encourage the pre-service

bottom of page